Why do you publish your photos on social media and here?

-ST-

Well Known Member
Followers
Following
Name
ST
Country
Canada
City/State
British Columbia
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
Why Social Media
I tromp around a beach and environmentally sensitive area every morning, usually for the first hours before and after sunrise. I've been doing that for over five years, and about two years ago, I got into photography with an A7 IV and a 24-105 f/4 lens. Since then, I've progressed to carrying my A1 with 200-600 and A7 IV with 70-200 GM II.

I see lots of people on my daily walks, and since I started carrying two cameras with big white lenses, many people have asked, "Where can I see your pictures?". So, to have something to say, I opened an easy-to-remember Instagram account.

I don't have many followers, but I've met almost all of them on my daily walks. Most of those followers have walked the same paths or looked at the same sights, so I often imagine these people when I raise the camera to compose a photo. I post a few photos for them every day.

I also support a community of local musicians who meet every week. I host the get-togethers, run the sound, take the photos, and handle the social media and promotion. So that's another reason I post photos on social media (Facebook and Instagram).

In short, I publish on social media:
  • As an extension of the "conversations" I have with people I meet on my daily walks
  • As an extension of my interactions with the musical community and to promote the events and musicians

Why Here
I joined this community about six months into my journey into photography (January 2023). I enjoy the excellent images and conversations. I have learned a great deal, and I'm grateful to everyone who helped me along the way. For a while, I would post something here every day. Lately, not so much, although I stop in to look and read at least daily.